The Same Way I Came

I’m just sittin’ here.

Life moves really fast.

A few months ago, I sat here and began my journey into the blog-o-sphere. I didn’t really know what I was doing, but I gave it a shot.

I still don’t really know what I’m doing.

I guess, in the simplest explanation, I’ve been putting my thoughts into public space. I’ve been letting you, the reader, know what I think. Even if I’m not specifically telling you what I’m thinking, you can get a good feel for how I think just based on what I’ve posted. It’s interesting.

I’m just sittin’ here.

But, as I’ve been sitting here doing these things, time has been ticking. School has been good to me – and with another year in the books, hopefully summer is, too.

I can’t help but be a little disheartened by how quickly this year has gone by. I’m going to be a senior in college come Fall. I don’t really know what to do with myself. I’m getting to the point in time where I can’t just waste all my days sitting outside listening to hip-hop (I wish I could). The real world is knocking, and my priorities with it; Life has dealt me a new hand, and I’m going in.

Sorry to get all metaphorical and mysterious on you.

I’m just sittin’ here.

This doesn’t mean I’m giving up on hip-hop. I’m taking my love of rap with me to the grave. It’s just that, as a soon-to-be graduate of college, the prospect of “being an adult” is kind of frightening, and I don’t know if I can give this blog the proper maintenance.

I have an internship for the summer with an NBC-owned news station. It’s full time, and it’s in a city about 45 minutes from where I live. It’s going to be a big time commitment.

I’m just sittin’ here.

With that in mind, it’s with a heavy heart that I have to cut you guys loose. It’s been a great ride. This blog has, in a sense, been a form of self-experimentation. I’ve learned a lot.

Who knows – maybe next week, I’ll realize I’ve made a horrible mistake, and come flying back to you like a boomerang. Or maybe I’ll try, but I’ll get stuck in a tree or something. Or maybe I’m just a regular stick.

I’m not sure what that’s supposed to mean.

I’m just sittin’ here.

With that, I’ll leave you the same way I came. Sitting here, trying to figure out what I’m going to say to you. In my absence, I trust you to continue to learn of and love new music. RateYourMusic is a great source. For those of you who don’t know of it, consider it my gift to you. For those of you who already know about it, here’s an I.O.U.

Thank you for reading. Thank you for letting me into your lives. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Peace, and much love to you.

Leave a comment