Taking the production plunge.

I have a tough time pulling the trigger when it comes to certain things.

No, not an actual gun.

I’m talking about when it comes to ideas, commitments, purchases, so on and so forth. I can be pretty indecisive. Unfortunately, this issue has kept me from pursuing something that I’ve wanted to learn about for some time now – and as you may or may not have been able to guess based on the title of this post, that certain something is learning to produce beats and instrumentals.

Learning to produce is somewhat of a risk for me – and anyone, really – because of the cost. I have a tough time justifying buying everyday items like clothes (I’ve been wearing the same socks for the past 3 weeks), so how can I possibly manage spending a huge chunk of money on something I’ve never even done?

Now, just to clarify: when I say produce, I don’t mean GarageBand-ing it up with my laptop’s keyboard (no disrespect to GarageBand). I mean using an actual keyboard. And actual programs. And all the other equipment that comes with it.

Even if I did get my hands on all of those things, there would still be a ton for me to learn. It’s intimidating diving headfirst into something new.

In an ideal world, I would have a teacher to show me the ropes when it comes to producing; I sometimes have difficulty starting things without any personal guidance, and this is a prime example of one of those times. I’m not very trustworthy. I can’t even trust myself to buy new socks. How can I possibly trust myself to learn how to produce on my own?

But, you know, life’s really too short to not try something you’re interested in. Writing this post has helped to remind me of that.

Let’s just hope I can act on it.

 

 

Leave a comment