Madvillainy is 10

and I didn’t even realize it until now.

Thanks to this post from Throwing Frisbees, I’ll now spend the rest of my night re-visiting one of my favorite albums.

I really like the quick explanation of the album’s brilliance; Madlib’s “hypnotic charm” and Doom’s “gritty tone” really combine to create something incredible with this record.

I also learned that Stones Throw is re-releasing Madvillainy on vinyl for $14.99 with said post. That’s also great to know, considering that I’ve needed to pick up another copy of it at some point.

Much appreciated, Throwing Frisbees. Everybody be sure to say your thank you’s on your way out.

April Showers…

april

… Bring new albums.

That’s how it goes, right?

We’re about a week into April now, so I figure it’s a good idea to touch base on some of the projects that’ll be seeing (or have seen) the light of day this month.

First and foremost, on April 1st, Mobb Deep released The Infamous Mobb Deep – A Double LP that contains a new album on one disc, as well as an album’s worth of unreleased tracks from their debut The Infamous on the other.

April 8th sees a couple of noteworthy debuts. SZA, one of Top Dawg’s newest signees, releases her label-first EP Z alongside Chuck Inglish and his debut album Convertibles.

For the 20th anniversary of his classic Illmatic, Nas will be releasing Illmatic XX on April 15th. Illmatic XX will include a remastered version of Nas’ debut, as well as a bonus disc of demos, remixes, and unreleased material.

Lastly, another item on my radar is Big Pooh and Roc C’s Trouble in the Neighborhood. Big Pooh comes from the acclaimed group Little Brother, so keeping an eye on this one is a no brainer. Trouble in the Neighborhood drops April 29th.

‘Til next time.